Are Marshmallows Halal?

At a bonfire about to eat some s’mores, wondering “are marshmallows halal?”. Trying a new baking recipe that requires marshmallows and wondering if you can consume it? You’ve come to the right place! In this blog we explore the world of marshmallows and answer all your halal-related queries about them. Make sure to read till the end to know more.

What Are Marshmallows?

Appearing as early as 2000 BC in Ancient Egypt, the marshmallow is a snack enjoyed by people of all ages for many centuries. It was a goo-ey sweet treat, the recipe of which has been passed on for generations to become what is today, the modern-day marshmallow.

Marshmallows are a confection that is made from sugar, cornstarch, water, gelatin, and flavoring. The marshmallows are usually white, but they can also be made in other colors. They are often eaten as a snack, but they can also be used in recipes.

They are made by combining the sugar, cornstarch, and water in a pot and cooking it until it thickens. Then, the gelatin is added and the mixture is cooked until it thickens again. The flavoring is then added and the marshmallows are poured into a pan to cool. Once they have cooled, they are cut into squares or other shapes.

Are Marshmallows Halal? – A Closer Look

Halal foods are those that are permitted by Islamic law. The word “halal” means “lawful” or “permissible.” Foods that are halal are allowed for Muslims to eat and drink. There are a few things to consider when looking for halal foods. The first is that the food must be free from contamination by pork or pork products. The second is that the food must not contain any alcohol or other intoxicating substances. Lastly, any meat consumed must be slaughtered in a particular way, as described by the laws of Islam.

As far as marshmallows go, traditionally, they are made of gelatin which comes from a variety of animal products including pork and beef. Pork-gelatin is considered haram (not okay to eat for Muslims), while beef gelatin is only considered okay if the animal was slaughtered in accordance to Islamic laws. So, when buying traditional marshmallows, I recommend looking for the halal certification symbol before you purchase those.

Today, there are many vegan and vegetarian marshmallows available, which can be halal. It is best practice to go through all the ingredients and make sure they’re halal before you utilize those. You can also check for the halal certification on these types too!

Are Marshmallows Halal? – Bottom Line

The bottom-line is, marshmallows can be halal based on their preparation. It is likely best to purchase vegetarian or vegan marshmallows, so you’re on the safer side, however the best practice still remains looking for halal-certified marshmallows. Make sure to read the ingredients thoroughly to be absolutely safe. That being said, overall, there are definitely some options for Muslim brothers and sisters when it comes to marshmallows. Thank you for reading!

Mohamed J

Leave a Comment