sale

Are Hot Cheetos Halal?

As far as snacks go, Hot Cheetos are definitely popular around the world. As a Muslim, you have likely asked the question “are Hot Cheetos halal?”. To put your mind at ease, I bring you all the information you need to know about the snack so you know whether or not consuming it is alright. Make sure to read till the end of the blog to know more!

Ingredients in Hot Cheetos

As per the official Cheetos website the ingredients of Hot Cheetos are:

  • Enriched Corn Meal (Corn Meal, Ferrous Sulfate, Niacin, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin Folic Acid)
  • Vegetable Oil (Corn, Canola, and/or Sunflower Oil)
  • Flamin’ Hot Seasoning (Maltodextrin [Made from Corn]
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Monosodium Glutamate
  • Yeast Extract
  • Citric Acid
  • Artificial Color [Red 40 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 6, Yellow 5]
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Cheddar Cheese [Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes]
  • Onion Powder
  • Whey
  • Whey Protein Concentrate
  • Garlic Powder
  • Natural Flavor
  • Buttermilk
  • Sodium Diacetate
  • Disodium Inosinate
  • Disodium Guanylate

So, are hot cheetos halal? To know whether these ingredients are alright for the consumption continue into the next section.

A Closer Look

Halal food is food that is permissible according to Islamic law. This includes food that is prepared, processed, and/or stored in accordance with Islamic guidelines. First and foremost, Muslims are not allowed to consume pork or pork products. Pigs are considered unclean animals and their meat is not permissible for Muslims to eat. Additionally, Muslims are not allowed to eat any meat that is not slaughtered in the proper manner. The slaughtering of meat must be done by a Muslim who is reciting the name of Allah.

When it comes to Hot Cheetos, the enzymes used in them is derived from animals, and due to this, PepsiCo (Cheetos’ parent company), has announced that Hot Cheetos are in fact NOT halal. This is unfortunate to see, and I can only hope that in the future they eliminate this ingredient and make the snack Muslim-friendly. Meanwhile, there are other snacks such as oreos, or sour patch kids that you can enjoy!

Are Hot Cheetos Halal?Bottom Line

The bottom line is, Hot Cheetos are not halal. This is rather unfortunate, but it helps to remember that there are several great alternatives you can find if you’re feeling snack-y! Hot Cheetos have enzymes that are derived from animal products, which are likely not slaughtered according to the laws of Islam. I can only hope the company chooses to be more halal-friendly in the future.

If you’re curious about the halal status of various cheese snacks beyond the ones mentioned above, delve deeper into our comprehensive guides. Stay informed and snack confidently according to your dietary preferences.

Are Cheese Balls Halal in Islam: Dive into the world of halal snacks as we explore the halal status of popular cheese balls. Discover whether your favorite cheesy treat meets halal dietary guidelines.

Are Cheetos Halal in Islam: Uncover the truth about the iconic Cheetos and their halal compatibility. We investigate the ingredients and processes to help you make an informed choice when snacking.

Are Cheez Doodles Halal in Islam: Join us on a journey through the world of cheesy snacks as we investigate whether Cheez Doodles align with halal principles. Learn more about their ingredients and preparation.

Are Cheez Its Halal in Islam: Explore the halal credentials of the beloved Cheez-Its. Find out if these crispy, cheesy crackers can be enjoyed while adhering to halal dietary restrictions.

Mohamed J

ad516503a11cd5ca435acc9bb6523536?s=150&d=mm&r=gforcedefault=1

Leave a Comment