Are Sour Patch Kids Halal or Haram? Quick Fact

Any Muslim looking for new snacks and candy to try has likely wondered “are sour patch kids halal?”. Don’t fret! In this blog, I cover the topic and take a look into whether or not you can enjoy this candy as a Muslim. Make sure you read till the end of the blog to know everything you should know!

What are Halal Snacks?

When it comes to snacking, everyone has their own preferences. For some people, a bag of potato chips is the perfect pick-me-up; for others, no snack session is complete without a chocolate bar. But if you’re observing Halal dietary rules, then there are certain snacks that may not appeal to your taste buds.

Thankfully, there are plenty of delicious and convenient Halal snacks for you to choose from. These snacks are made with only the finest ingredients that comply with Islamic dietary laws, so you can be sure that what you’re eating is safe and free from any trace of pork or alcohol. Halal snacks range from traditional Middle Eastern favorites to creative and innovative treats, so there’s sure to be something to suit every palate.

Also Read: Is Starburst Halal?

Whether you’re looking for a light snack on the go or a tasty treat to share with friends, Halal snacks offer a delicious way to enjoy snacking without compromising your dietary beliefs. From dried fruit and nuts, to dates and figs, there’s something for everyone to enjoy. Plus, incorporating Halal snacks into your diet is a great way to keep your energy and nutrient levels up throughout the day!

So if you’re looking for some delicious and convenient snack options that comply with Islamic dietary laws, check out the range of Halal snacks that are now available. With so many tasty options to choose from, you won’t have to settle for anything less than the best!

What is Sour Patch Kids?

Sour Patch Kids are a beloved candy that has been around since the 1980s. These little treats have a unique flavor, with their signature sour-then-sweet taste. They come in various shapes and sizes, enticing people of any age to indulge in them. But what really sets Sour Patch Kids apart is how they go from being sour to sweet! They start off with an intense sour flavor, which quickly gives way to a sweet aftertaste.

Sour Patch Kids Ingredients

The ingredients for Sour Patch Kids candies typically include:

  • Sugar
  • Invert sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Modified corn starch
  • Tartaric acid
  • Citric acid
  • Natural and artificial flavors
  • Artificial colors (Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1, Yellow 6)
  • White mineral oil

It is important to note that ingredients may vary depending on the specific product and packaging and the region where it is manufactured and sold. It’s always advisable to check the packaging for the most up-to-date information.

Please also note that some of the ingredients in Sour Patch Kids such as artificial colors, might be of concern for some people, so always be aware of it.

Are Sour Patch Kids Halal?

Yes, sour patch kids are considered to be halal. This is because they do not contain any pork products or alcohol. Even the manufacturing takes place in a safe environment, where contamination does not occur. Additionally, sour patch kids are vegan and therefore most definitely halal-friendly.


Is sour patch kids vegetarian or vegan?

Sour Patch Kids are the perfect snack for vegans out there! There’s no need to worry if you’re cravings are calling for a sour treat. Sour Patch Kids are vegan-friendly, so you can satisfy your taste buds without sacrificing your dietary beliefs.

What flavors are available for Sour Patch Kids?

Sour Patch Kids are available in several flavors, including original (red), orange, lemon, lime, and blue raspberry. They also have limited edition and seasonal flavors.

Is Sour Patch Halal in the US?

Yes, While the ingredients used in Sour Patch candies are be Halal. Sour Patch Kids does not list gelatin as an ingredient. Furthermore, the sugar used in sour patch kids is organic, implying that no animal bone char was used in the manufacturing process.

Are Sour Patch Halal in the UK?

Sour patch kids in the United Kingdom contain gelatin. Since gelatin is commercially produced from decaying animal hides, boiled crushed bones, and cattle and pig connective tissues. It is halal if the gelatin is made from cattle and it is considered haram if the gelatin is created from pork.


After examining the ingredients, we did not find any presence of Gelatin or alcohol in Sour Patch Kids. As a result, this popular candy can be considered halal or vegan-friendly and suitable for individuals who prefer to avoid consuming animal-derived products.

Also explore : Are Trolli Gummy Worms Halal?.

Photo of author

Written By Nazim Almasi

Nazim is an Islamic scholar, author and External Consultant at Renewable Energy Maldives. He writes on Islamic finance, food and halal dietary guidelines. He is a respected voice in the Muslim community, known for his clear explanations of complex religious concepts. He has been invited to speak at various conferences and seminars on topics related to Islamic finance, food and Renewable Energy.

Leave a Comment