If you’re looking to learn about halal food and are wondering “is root beer halal?”, you’ve come to the right place. In this post, I’ll cover the basics about halal food and whether root beers are halal. Interested to find out? Make sure you read till the end!
Table of Contents
A Closer Look
Halal food is food that is permissible for Muslims to eat under Islamic law. This includes food that is slaughtered in accordance with Islamic law, as well as food that is free of pork and pork products, blood, and alcohol.
Despite the name most root beer is not halal! Similar to sugar alcohols it may seem haram, but Muslims can safely consume the beverage as root beer is generally made by mixing a few naturally-occuring vegetarian ingredients together, including molasses, water and sassafras root or bark, and wintergreen. Sometimes, some root beer brands may utilize non-halal ingredients to keep it fresh.
I recommend, to either look for the halal certificate or read through the ingredients just to be sure no haram additives are added to the drink. So, go ahead and enjoy yourself a cold root beer!
Is Root Beer Halal? – Bottom Line
The ultimate verdict is that the most commonly available root beer is made using halal ingredients that are sourced from naturally available, vegetarian sources. Hence, root beer is halal. Thanks for reading!